Fatehpur Sikri

I visited Fatehpur Sikri in India .

20170412_113329

I remember the temperature was boiling hot that day and we had to look for shade a lot.20170412_12131520170412_11344120170412_123108

20170412_123105

I can’t remember all the history of Fatehpur Sikri because I was so hot and even though I had so much water to drink. I do remember some stories about a king called Akhbar had a pet elephant called Hawa’i. King Akhbar also decided to create a religion of his own from four different religions. But, if any person disagreed with it…..the king would have his elephant torture them and possibly killed. I tried to see the building with elephant’s tusks on it as it was built as a monument to his elephants and maybe to show he was powerful too.  The area is also famous for its water shortage and I am not surprised as it was very hot. Strangely I saw a man who waved for attention and I thought he was throwing himself in and panicked.  He was doing it to get tourists worried  to give him money so he wouldn’t. I told Tanya to let him jump ha-ha. 20170412_12185520170412_121841

 

I also met an older lady originally from England but she now lives in Romania now and works with disabled children. She said she couldn’t wait to go back and tell them she had seen someone who doesn’t let disability stop them from travelling to unique places.

20170412_11332720170412_113701

We then went back in the van for a short fifteen minute drive to eat. The building was lovely but the food was not. I met the same lady from Romania there and met a lady from Portugal who spoke to Sam; she was introduced to me as she is a teacher of the Deaf. We compared our signs.

Bharatpur-Laxmi Vilas Palace

We then went for a long four hour drive and the guide stopped on the way he looked at Sam’s shoes and said come with me. It was difficult to see where they were going as the ground went up and down and they had to cross a train track. But as I watched them climb some small hills I could see camels, brown camels that were difficult to see as they were far away because of the trees.  Sam said she has never seen anything like it. The more she looked at the trees the more appeared they were huge and came out to see who this strange English woman was on their land. She also met a very old man who was rubbing oil into their skin to look after them. As we arrived into Jaipur we watched the sunset our lovely driver pulled over and said “watch this it’s beautiful !“ and it was. The colours! When we finally arrived at the Trident hotel I was absolutely shattered as we had been so busy, hot and had traveled so far.

Leave a comment