Don’t let the media scare you and make your mental health worse

With the outbreak of the Coronavirus, the media has been going crazy recently. I’m finding it annoying, as 11 years ago during the Summer I got Swine Flu and almost died. The media craze is a constant reminder. When I heard the news at the end of January I thought I would be ok because it was in China, which is far away. Right now, despite worrying slightly, I am not extremely worried. I am not scared either. You have to live your life, go outside and do what you want to do. I am not sure how true or false the idea of the outbreak being so bad is. The other day I was reading an article that compared how deadly the most recent viruses have been:

https://www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-compared-to-sars-swine-flu-mers-zika-2020-3?r=US&IR=T

Even though the Coronavirus is still young, the difference with the numbers seemed huge.

However, when I go out somewhere else and it’s busy with lots of people, my mind thinks “what if someone gives me the Coronavirus?”. I think I’m really strong for going out and doing things when it’s still on my mind. I think it’s the fault of the media and the news why I have it on my mind so much. I try to ignore it, but I hear lots about it. I’ve seen lots of posters everywhere. I think that the shops selling out of hand sanitiser and toilet roll is crazy! The lack of toilet roll in shops makes me laugh.

I feel it is difficult with my mother. She worries a lot about me and says “Coronavirus” lots. I absolutely understand how she is feeling as she has seen me with bad health before. I know she loves me so much and she doesn’t want to nearly lose me again. I understand it is on parents’ minds how their children’s lives would change if they got an illness.

I am wondering if people who have had the same experience with nearly dying from an illness are having the same problem and whether it is making their mental health bad. I want the media to stop making their mental health issues worse, and want to help in any way to stop that.

89108956_225505521924821_3678904346772242432_n

2 thoughts on “Don’t let the media scare you and make your mental health worse

  1. Hi Nadia,
    I was told by a friend who’s a doctor that all flu’s are dangerous, and in England there have been an average of 17,000 deaths from flu viruses per year over the last few years. (That’s about 60 deaths a day, and it continues daily.)
    He believes that the corona virus is no more dangerous than the existing strains, but care should still be taken.
    Love to you and all the family.
    Uncle Mike

    Like

  2. These Papers are making money out of panic do what you can and keep going and I agree that the media coverage of this Coronavirus is making people ill

    Like

Leave a comment